Our guiding principle

Moringa: Good for you - good for the world

On the basis of constantly growing knowledge, experience and further expansion of the partner network, we, as specialists around Moringa oleifera, want to promote the market spread of Moringa products from transparent, fair and sustainable production conditions both in Europe and by promoting cultivation, processing and sales in less developed countries, especially in Africa.

With the market dissemination of the outstanding properties of Moringa oleifera we would also like to make an important contribution to the UN Millennium Development Goals.

Our team

Christof Ruhmich

Chief Executive Officer

Coordination of management, support of partner network, marketing & sales, controlling

"To bring about social, entrepreneurial and sustainable changes in the world".

Leo Frey

Chief Finance Officer

Operational Finance

"Create a product that we love with partners who can trust us and whom we can inspire"

Benjamin Schlüter

Chief Operations Officer

Supply Chain Management, quality management, production, Consumer & White-Label-Products, IT

"Passionately soberly bringing together business and social issues"

Dr. Gerd Scheying

Chief Research Officer

Research & Development

„Establishin Moringa oleifera in Africa, for Africa as a sustainable source of protein"

 

Our story

The path

Before the company was founded, the two founders Christof and Benjamin worked as project managers. They worked together for several years in crisis regions in the east of the Democratic Republic of Congo. With people and for people, they actively and successfully provided assistance in this challenging environment in the areas of health care, road construction and food security. In the process, they have realized how difficult it is to achieve a truly sustainable improvement in the situation of those affected. Again and again they have seen aid projects fail already during the funding period or shortly afterwards.

Idea and founding of the business

Projects that use locally manufactured products to enable sustainable economic activity are most likely to improve the living conditions of the local people in the long term. In his search for a locally produced product, Christof came across the outstanding characteristics of the Moringa oleifera tree. Convinced and enthusiastic about its undemanding cultivation conditions and unique nutrient richness, the idea was born in 2015 to grow, process and market Moringa olefera locally and internationally together with local partners from Africa.

At the end of 2015, Christof and Benjamin, together with local partners, founded a Moringa production cooperative in the east of the Democratic Republic of Congo, and Mag Mo  in Germany. From 2016, the first successful steps in the cultivation and processing of Moringa olefeira followed, as well as the start of local marketing of Moringa leaf powder in stand-up pouches with the introduction of the company's own brand MoringaStar.

In 2018, Moringa marketing activities were successfully extended to Kinshasa, the capital of the Democratic Republic of Congo, through the partnership with another local Moringa producer from the same region in Eastern Congo. Besides creating jobs, the consumption of Moringa oleifera contributes sustainably to the improvement of the nutritional and health situation of the local people.

Trade with Moringa oleifera raw materials and MoringaStar products in Germany

In 2018 Mag Mo GmbH started the Moringa raw materials business in Europe and sells its own Moringa-based superfood mixes in Germany under the brand MoringaStar.

Unser Leitmotiv

Moringa: Gut für dich – gut für die Welt

Auf Basis stetig wachsenden Wissens, Erfahrung und weiterem Ausbau des Partnernetzwerkes, wollen wir als Spezialist rund um Moringa oleifera die Marktverbreitung von Moringa Produkten aus transparenten, fairen und nachhaltigen Produktionsbedingungen sowohl in Europa, als auch durch Förderung von Anbau, Verarbeitung und Verkauf in weniger entwickelten Ländern, insbesondere in Afrika, vorantreiben.

 Mit der Marktverbreitung der herausragenden Eigenschaften von Moringa oleifera möchten wir zudem einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Erreichung von Zielen der nachhaltigen Entwicklung leisten.

Unser Team

Christof Ruhmich

Chief Executive Officer

Koordinierung Geschäftsleitung, Betreuung Partnernetzwerk, Marketing & Vertrieb, Controlling

„Sozial unternehmerisch und nachhaltig Veränderungen in der Welt herbeiführen“

Leo Frey

Chief Finance Officer

Operatives Finanzwesen

„Mit Partnern die uns vertrauen können, und die wir begeistern können, ein Produkt erschaffen, das wir lieben.“

Benjamin Schlüter

Chief Operations Officer

Supply Chain Management, Qualitätsmanagement, Produktion Consumer & White-Label-Produkte, IT

„Leidenschaftlich nüchtern Wirtschaft und Soziales zusammenführen“

Dr. Gerd Scheying

Chief Research Officer

Forschung & Entwicklung

„Moringa oleifera in Afrika, für Afrika zur nachhaltigen Proteinquelle aufbereiten“

 

Unsere Story

Der Weg

Vor der Gründung haben die beiden Gründer Christof und Benjamin als Projektmanager gearbeitet. Zusammen arbeiteten Sie mehrere Jahre i in Krisenregionen im Osten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo. Mit Menschen und für Menschen leisteten Sie in diesem herausfordernden Umfeld aktiv und erfolgreich Hilfe im Gesundheitswesen, dem Straßenbau und der Ernährungssicherung.  Dabei haben sie festgestellt, wie schwierig es ist, die Lage der Betroffenen wirklich nachhaltig  zu verbessern.  Immer wieder sahen sie Hilfsprojekte bereits während der geförderten Laufzeit oder danach scheitern.

Idee und Gründung

Projekte, die mit lokal erzeugten Produkten nachhaltiges Wirtschaften ermöglichen, sind am ehesten dafür geeignet die Lebensbedingungen der Menschen vor Ort dauerhaft zu verbessern. Auf der Suche nach einem lokal erzeugten Produkt stiess Christof auf die herausragenden Eigenschaften des Moringa-oleifera-Baumes.  Überzeugt und begeistert von dessen anspruchslosen Anbaubedingungen und einzigartigem Nährstoffreichtum wurde im Jahr 2015 die Idee geboren gemeinsam mit lokalen Partnern aus Afrika, Moringa olefera anzubauen, zu verarbeiten und lokal und international zu vermarkten.

Ende des Jahres 2015 gründeten gründeten Christof und Benjamin zusammen mit lokalen Partnern eine Moringa Produktionsgenossenschaft im Osten der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, sowie die Mag Mo  in Deutschland. Ab 2016 folgten die ersten erfolgreichen Schritte im Anbau, der Verarbeitung von Moringa olefeira, sowie der Start der lokalen Vermarktung von Moringablattpulver in Standbodenbeuteln mit Einführung der eigenen Marke MoringaStar.

Im Jahre 2018 konnten die Aktivitäten der Moringa Vermarktung durch die Partnerschaft mit einem weiteren lokalen Moringa Produzenten aus der gleichen Region im Ostkongo erfolgreich bis nach Kinshasa, die Hauptstadt der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, ausgeweitet werden. Neben der Schaffung von Arbeitsplätzen trägt der Konsum von Moringa oleifera nachhaltig zur Verbesserung der Ernährungs- und Gesundheitssituation der Menschen vor Ort bei.

Moringa oleifera Rohstoffhandel und MoringaStar-Produkte in Deutschland

2018 hat die Mag Mo GmbH das Moringa Rohstoffgeschäft in Europa gestartet und verkauft eigene Superfoodmischungen auf Moringabasis in Deutschland unter der Marke MoringaStar.